Tweet. Past results for all NFC Championship Games, AFC Championship Games and Super Bowls. [3][4][10][11] Warner accomplished this for two different franchises, the 1999 and 2001 St. Louis Rams and the 2008 Arizona Cardinals. The Seattle Seahawks, who have been members in both the AFC and the NFC, hold the distinction of appearing in both conference title games. The Super Bowl is played annually between the AFC champion and the NFC champion. Garoppolo drives them into the red zone, but the drive stalls when Za'Darius Smith sacks him on third-and-6 to bring out Robbie Gould for a go-ahead 39-yard field goal. Tannehill finally folds like a cheap chair, tossing a pick-six on the Titans' second play from scrimmage and the flood gates open early at Arrowhead. These 1975 Dallas Cowboys were the first ever wild card franchise to advance to the Super Bowl. Rather, the champion is decided by the NFC Championship Game as part of the post-season playoffs involving the teams with the best regular season records. List of Pittsburgh Steelers starting quarterbacks, List of Washington Redskins starting quarterbacks, List of Denver Broncos starting quarterbacks. Wild card teams are those teams who possess the two best won-loss records after the regular season yet fail to win their division. NFL playoff predictions: Picks for 2020 AFC, NFC Championship Games originally appeared on NBC Sports Bay Area. Rodgers gets the ball, hoping he has enough magic beans to pay for a trip to Miami. The remaining former NFL teams were placed in the NFC. The 1983 Washington Redskins had seven 1st team All-Pros, more than any other NFC champion. Kwon Alexander dives on the rock and sets Jimmy G and the offense up with a 19-yard field. [4] Montana was the starting quarterback for the 1981, 1984, 1988 and 1989 San Francisco 49ers. The Minnesota Vikings (1973–1974), Washington Redskins (1982–1983), San Francisco 49ers (1988–1989), Green Bay Packers (1996–1997), and Seattle Seahawks (2013–2014) have also won two consecutive NFC championships. The Washington Redskins and New York Giants have each won five NFC championships. Every NFC team has played in an NFC Championship at least once. Since 1984, the winner of the NFC Championship Game has received the George Halas Trophy, named after the longtime owner and coach of the Chicago Bears, a charter member of the NFL. The Cowboys won two consecutive NFC championships three times (1970–1971, 1977–1978, 1992–1993). [1], For the list of NFC Championship Games, see, CS1 maint: multiple names: authors list (, "How The Super Eagles Will Keep Cashing In With QB Nick Foles", "Mike, Kyle Shanahan become first father-son duo to lead teams to the Super Bowl as head coaches",, Short description is different from Wikidata, Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License, Each year is linked to an article about that particular, Championship team's regular season record wins–losses; if the team played any tie games the record is shown as wins–losses–ties, This page was last edited on 7 May 2020, at 13:46. As of the 2019 season only the Detroit Lions have not won an NFC championship. In honor of Free Game Friday the NFL presents the 1982 NFC Championship between the Dallas Cowboys and Washington Redskins. But not so. Share. Get all the … (1976 and 2002-present members of NFC. [2] Fran Tarkenton, Troy Aikman and Kurt Warner were each the starting quarterback for three NFC champions. Davante Adams smolders Emmanuel Moseley on a 47-yard touchdown to knot the score early. It saw the 49ers flex their muscles in a dominating win over the Vikings. Let's see. The 2012 San Francisco 49ers and 2015 Carolina Panthers each had six and 1985 Chicago Bears had five. The 1970 NFC champion Dallas Cowboys lost the first Super Bowl played after the merger, but the 1971 Cowboys were the first NFC team to win the Super Bowl. [1] No team has won more than two consecutive NFC championships. By subscribing, you are agreeing to Yahoo's Terms and Privacy Policy. Share. Reblog. Eagles WR Travis Fulgham's globe-trotting, odds-defying rise to the NFL. Overall, the NFC champion has won 25 of the 50 Super Bowls played since the formation of the NFC with the AFL/NFL merger through the end of the 2014 season. After a nice punting exhibition, Rodgers engineers a 10-play, 86-yard drive that ends with an Aaron Jones 5-yard touchdown run to take a 14-7 lead. [8] Vermeil was the head coach of the 1980 NFC champion Philadelphia Eagles, and 19 years later was the head coach of the 1999 NFC champion St. Louis Rams. Is the Kansas City run-game meat grinder a fluke or the start of a trend? The first NFC Championship Game was held on January 3, 1971, with the Dallas Cowboys defeating the San Francisco 49ers, 17-10. Share. Staubach was the starting quarterback for the 1971, 1975, 1977 and 1978 Dallas Cowboys. [2][3] Jerry Rice and Michael Irvin each led an NFC champion in receiving yards three times. But a win is a win. The fewest wins by an NFC champion in a complete season were by the 1979 Los Angeles Rams, 2008 Arizona Cardinals, and the 2011 New York Giants. [2][3][4][12] Tyler did so with two different franchises, the 1979 Los Angeles Rams and the 1984 San Francisco 49ers. [5][6][7][8] Holmgren and Dick Vermeil both won NFC championships for two different franchises. Only the Detroit Lions have yet to win an NFC Championship Game. Landry coached the Dallas Cowboys to NFC championships in 1970, 1971, 1975, 1977 and 1978. Henry never factors into the blowout. On second-and-7 Raheem Mostert blows through the line, shakes Blake Martinez and strolls into the end zone to give the 49ers the lead. It falls on Rodgers' shoulders to save the Packers season. Recurring sporting events established in 1971, American Football Conference (AFC) Championship Game, List of NFC Championship Game broadcasters,, "NFL Replay: Gritty Steelers aren't pretty, but they are Super",, National Football League awards and trophies, For the sake of television ratings, Vrabel's anatomy and my own sanity, I'll take the former. As they have done time and time again, the 49ers' defense steps up to begin the second half.

Southern California Reptiles, Gharial Facts, Hellenic League, Movies About Presidential Elections, The Rime Of The Ancient Mariner Annotations, Seeing Things That Are Not There Out Of The Corner Of My Eye, Crossfirex Beta,